About ARIJ Annual Awards

The year 2023 marks the ARIJ 14th annual awards, which honours Arab journalists who took on scathing criticism, faced reluctant sources, and risked retaliation, to bring to light corruption and injustice in their societies.

The ARIJ Awards acknowledge the integrity and professionalism of these journalists; setting benchmarks for future generations to model.

ARIJ honours unfettered truth-telling. Ten Finalists will reach the top and compete to be one of three winners to be announced on December 3, 2023, ARIJ annual forum closing ceremony, in front of the award-winning journalists and distinguished leaders in the field. The awards are open to all Arab journalists.

Submissions must be in Arabic and produced and/or written by an Arab Journalist. Entries are judged on their content, creativity, and impact.

Application deadline is Tuesday September 5 - 20:00 Amman Time.

Here are the awards:

  • Best Arab Investigation – Gold Award
  • Best Arab Investigation – Silver Award
  • Best Arab Investigation – Bronze Award


Meet The Jury

jury image

Bayan Tal

Media and Communication Consultant

jury image

Anass Bendrif

Specialist and Trainer in media and communication

jury image

Naji Tamimi

Producer for Al Jazeera’s Investigative Unit

jury image

Abdualla Maksour

Novelist, Trainer and Producer at Al Arabi TV

jury image

Heba Kandil

Senior Manager, Media Initiatives, Thomson Reuters Foundation

Screening Committee

munir image

Munir Al-Khatib

Editor in-chief

munir image

Hoda Osman

Executive Editor

munir image

Ethar AlAzem

Executive Editor

Award Announcement Timeline


Open registration to submit awards


Closing registration


Announcing Finalists


Ceremony and Awards